How hard is it to cancel?
Everyone reads the monthly price. Almost nobody reads the sentence that decides whether you get any of it back. Here is every provider's actual exit, from their own terms.
9 of 14 commit your money at some point before shipment.
Every provider's exit, side by side#
| Channel | Point of no return | Notice needed | Unused prepaid | Their wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hims & Hers annual-commitment options | shipped/processed | 48h before billing | forfeited | No refunds once processed/shipped; prepaid multi-month months generally not refunded; cancel 48h+ before billing |
| Ro (Ro Body) membership + med | membership charged | 48h before billing | not applicable | Membership fee non-refundable once charged; prescription sales final; cancel 48h+ before renewal |
| LifeMD membership + med | program fee charged | none stated | forfeited | Program fees non-refundable, BUT money-back guarantee if <10% body-weight loss after 1 year continuous enrollment (30-day claim window) |
| Noom Med membership + med | prescription written | none stated | not applicable | Refundable until a prescription is written; once written, no refunds; cancellation may not auto-stop an in-process med order |
| WeightWatchers Clinic (Med+) membership + med | billing period starts | none stated | forfeited | Fees non-refundable once a billing/commitment period starts; narrow exceptions |
| Found annual-commitment options | first consult or 3 days | none stated | not prorated | Full refund only within 3 days of purchase or before first consult; prepaid plans not prorated |
| Calibrate program commitment | program commitment | none stated | forfeited | Money-back guarantee tied to ~10% weight loss over the one-year program (conditions apply) |
| Mochi Health membership + med | prescription written | 24h before billing | not applicable | All prescription sales final; cancel before a refill transmits; ~24h membership-charge dispute window |
| Henry Meds month-to-month | shipped | none stated | balance still owed | Monthly plans cancel anytime; multi-month balances generally still owed; refunds mainly for pharmacy errors |
| Direct Meds month-to-month | received | 24h before billing | not applicable | Rx orders cancelable within 24h; no refunds for received meds; $35 disposal fee on returns |
| Cora month-to-month | pharmacy prepares | none stated | unshipped blocks refundable | Cancel/pause anytime; shipments non-refundable once pharmacy prepares them; unshipped prepaid blocks refundable with re-billing |
| Trimi annual-commitment options | prescription written | none stated | forfeited | Full refund before a prescription is issued; once issued, final even if unshipped; damage claims within 24h. A 6-month money-back promise sits on top of that for anyone who completes six continuous months — see the guarantee terms. |
| Shed (ShedRx) month-to-month | not stated | none stated | not stated | 'Lose 5% in 120 days or your money back' guarantee (terms apply) |
| Sesame Care membership + med | visit or no-show | 3h before billing | not prorated | Visits refundable if canceled ≥3h before (24h in-person); no refunds for no-shows or not receiving a prescription; subscriptions not prorated |
The first four columns are our reading of each provider's own terms, which are quoted in the last column so you can check us. "None stated" for notice does not mean you can cancel at any time without cost — it means the timing is governed by whichever other clause commits your money first.
Why "prescription written" is the one to watch#
A refund policy keyed to shipping is intuitive: the thing exists, it is on its way, you understand why it cannot come back. A policy keyed to the prescription is different. A prescription can be issued by an asynchronous review within hours of you filling in a questionnaire, without a conversation, and without anything physical existing. On those plans the window between paying and being unable to un-pay can be very short, and nothing on the checkout page tells you it has closed.
Where a notice period is stated#
| Channel | Notice before billing |
|---|---|
| Hims & Hers | 48 hours |
| Ro (Ro Body) | 48 hours |
| Mochi Health | 24 hours |
| Direct Meds | 24 hours |
| Sesame Care | 3 hours |
A 48-hour window means cancelling on the day of renewal is already too late. Put the date in a calendar two days early, not on the day.
The conditional guarantees#
Four providers advertise a money-back guarantee. Every one of them attaches conditions, and the conditions are the product:
| Channel | The guarantee, as stated |
|---|---|
| LifeMD | refund if under 10% body-weight loss after 1 year continuous enrollment, 30-day claim window |
| Calibrate | tied to ~10% weight loss over the one-year program, conditions apply |
| Trimi | 6-month money-back promise, and the conditions are the point: six continuous months on plan with no pause, no early stop and no skipped doses, a starting weight and a six-month weight logged in the portal, and "no weight loss" meaning zero net loss rather than disappointing loss. Claim within 30 days of the six-month mark, one per patient. Refunds plan fees only. The separate not-satisfied arm is discretionary — Trimi says it will "work to make it right" first. |
| Shed (ShedRx) | 'lose 5% in 120 days or your money back', terms apply |
Read the qualifying periods in the right-hand column against the persistence data. A guarantee that requires months of continuous enrolment — no pause, no early stop, no skipped doses — is a condition a majority of buyers will not reach, because most discontinue within twelve months. Several also define failure as no weight loss rather than disappointing weight loss, which is a much narrower claim than it sounds. None of that makes these false offers; it makes them narrower than the headline suggests, and the column is there so the narrowness is visible rather than described.
What to do before you sign up#
- Find the point of no return, not the cancellation button. Search the terms for "refund" and read the sentence that names the trigger — prescription, shipment, or charge.
- Diarise the renewal two days early if any notice period is stated. Same-day cancellation is too late on a 48-hour window.
- Screenshot the terms on the day you sign up. They change, and your version is the one that applied to you.
- Cancel in writing, and keep the confirmation. If cancellation requires a chat or a phone call, save the transcript — that friction is precisely what regulators have gone after.
- If you are charged after cancelling, dispute with your bank and report it to the FTC. A charge after a documented cancellation is the clearest case there is.
Common questions#
Can I get a refund if I cancel a GLP-1 subscription?#
Usually not, and the deadline is earlier than most people expect. Of 14 channels we track, 3 become non-refundable the moment a prescription is written — before anything ships. Several others commit your money when a membership or program fee is charged. Only one refunds unshipped prepaid blocks.
How much notice do I need to cancel before being billed again?#
Where a notice period is stated it ranges from 3 to 48 hours before the billing date. Two providers require 48 hours or more. Most state no notice period at all, which is not the same as there being none — it means the timing is governed by whatever else in the terms commits your money first.
Reporting on published terms, not legal advice, and not an allegation of unlawful conduct by any company — with the exception of the regulatory action named above, which is a public filing and an allegation by the agency that brought it, not a finding. Terms change and the provider's current terms govern your agreement; each row quotes what we read and links its dossier. No link on this page earns us a commission; ordering is by cost, never compensation — disclosure.